Heart circumcision.

“Rather, the real Jew is the person who is a Jew on the inside, that is, whose heart has been circumcised, and this is the work of God’s spirit, not of the written law. Such a person receives praise from God, not from human being. ”
– GNB, Romans 2:29.

Side story: so on the day the Holy Spirit taught me this topic, before I picked up my pen to write, I tried checking what circumcision meant, not because I didn’t know what it meant. Does this ever happen to you? You just want to dig up and find more meaning to a word than you know? As I picked up my phone to check the meaning of the word I found myself on Instagram scrolling through my page and then the Holy Spirit asked if I was done scrolling through so we could go back to devotion, He said it in the most hilarious way like “Are you done? I’m waiting, we were going to check what circumcision means. ” 😄. But anyways I’m always grateful for the person of the Holy Spirit and His act of bringing me back when I’m gone and lost in thought. So many things to be grateful about, so many.

In this chapter, Paul was writing to the Romans explaining to them who a real Jew is, I mean they had the idea of who they thought a Jew was but there was Paul painting another picture of who a real Jew is. He said a real Jew is one whose heart has been circumcised. Circumcision is the removal of the foreskin, the foreskin is a layer covering another layer. Now when the heart undergoes circumcision, the foreskin is removed and you are left with a new skin as a result.

Little wonder God said I will remove their stony heart and replace it with a heart made of flesh. Like the Bible verse that says “ As a man thinketh in his heart so he is. ” What used to be on our former hearts were things inherited from the first Adam, the old nature but then when we received the life of Christ, that skin was removed and it is exchanged for the nature of God.
I know it is possible to say “I was in sin before and I still sin, even though I have received the life of Christ. ” yes and yes, but surprisingly do you know that when God gave us a new heart, He gave us everything we would ever need to overcome sin. He gave us everything that pertains to life and Godliness. You just have to let it find its expression. The Holy Spirit enjoys manifesting through us. If it is hatred, one thing you need to understand is that the love of God has been shed abroad in our hearts and we can always choose to express this love.

To you : Your heart has been circumcised and you should live like that.

One thought on “Heart circumcision.

  1. To be uncircumcised means in the Aramaic language you are a heathen, it is one that does not believe in one God but in multiple gods that are across your lands that you live in. To be circumsized you are correct , your heart knows there is only one God, Look into the” eyes of Christ and you will see the heavens”. Excellent research and intuition. Your eyes are looking in the right place.

Leave a comment